Word of the day #42: paragraph

Word of the Day is designed to help children learn how to use a dictionary, whilst simultaneously expanding their vocabulary. Today’s Word of the Day begins with the letter ‘P’. The word is: paragraph.

paragraph

n a distinct section of a piece of writing, indicated by a new line, indentation or numbering.

v arrange in paragraphs.

Paragraph comes from the Greek word ‘paragraphoss meaning a ‘short stroke marking a break in sense’. ‘Para’ means ‘beside’ and ‘graphien’ ‘to write’. This symbol was written in many ways. Here are just a few:

Writing paragraphs can be difficult until you get the hang of it. Here’s an easy five-sentence model.

•          write the numbers 1-5 on a piece of paper.

•          You will probably have a topic that you have to write about, for example, your favourite sport. Next to Number 1, write a sentence giving your answer to the question or your opinion on the topic. For example, ‘My favourite sport is tennis.’

•          Next to Number 2, write a reason in support of your answer. For example, ‘I started to play tennis when I was just 5 years old.’

•          Next to Number 3, write another reason in support of your answer. For example, ‘I play tennis every Saturday afternoon.’

•          Next to Number 4, write a third reason in support of your answer. For example, ‘I love to watch tennis matches on the TV.’

•          Next to Number 5, rephrase your answer or opinion from Number 1. For example, ‘That’s why tennis is my favourite sport.’

And that’s it – you have a paragraph! ‘My favourite sport is tennis. I started to play tennis when I was just 5 years old. I play tennis every Saturday afternoon. I love to watch tennis matches on the TV. That’s why tennis is my favourite sport.’

This is just a simple example, but you can use this model to write sentences about practically anything.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Word of the Day

Leave a Reply

